2019-2020 News

2020 CMJ Award Winners

Please join us in congratulating the following undergraduate and graduate student award winners and click this link for congratulatory notes:


  • Outstanding Graduating Senior in Journalism, Liz Theriault
  • Outstanding Graduating Senior in Media Studies is Kira Barra
  • The Raymie McKerrow Award: Distinguished Undergraduate Student in Communication & Journalism, Mari Smith
  • Wofford Gardner Award: Outstanding Academic Achievement in Communication, Byron Winslow
  • Brooks Hamilton: Spirit of Excellence Award and Outstanding Senior in CMJ, Ali Tobey (note forthcoming)


  • Outstanding Grad student excellence in Research and creative activity, Kevin Duffy
  • Outstanding MA Student, Tim Rocha
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences TA Award, Jaquel Eley
  • Department of Communication and Journalism TA Award, Tabitha Boze

CMJ students receive prestigious Maine Press Association scholarships

The Maine Press Association has just announced $5,000 in scholarships to five journalism students this year. Recipients of 2020 scholarships are Hailey Bryant, of Gorham, a senior at the University of Maine and part-time employee of the Bangor Daily News; Olivia Shipsey, of Old Town, a senior at the University of Maine and editor-in-chief of the Maine Campus; Leela Stockley, of Orono, a junior at the University of Maine and contributor to the Maine Campus; Elizabeth Theriault, of Orono, a senior at the University of Maine and opinion section editor for the Maine Campus; and Amelia Bodge, of Sanford, a junior at the University of Southern Maine and contributor to USM’s Free Press.

Bryant was a recipient in 2019 as well. The other 2019 recipient, Nina Mahaleris, now works for a Maine Press Association member newspaper, The Penobscot Times.

“We wish all of the recipients luck as they complete their studies and pursue careers in Maine journalism,” said J.W. Oliver, president of the Maine Press Association Board of Directors. “It gives us special pride this year to award scholarships to several students who have connections to our member newspapers, as employees, interns, and even a newspaper carrier.”

The Maine Press Association awards at least one scholarship every year to a junior or senior with financial need who plans to pursue a career in journalism, but the $5,000 amount and the five recipients greatly exceed figures from recent years.

The scholarships are possible through the generosity of bidders at the Maine Press Association’s annual scholarship auction and the donors who provide the auction items.

To inquire about the 2021 scholarship, contact scholarship committee Chair Sindhu Manjesh at sindhu.manjesh@maine.edu.

Established in 1864, the Maine Press Association works to protect the freedom of the press and the public’s right to know, and to promote and foster high ethical standards in journalism.

Drs. Laura Rickard and Bridie McGreavy receive grant from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Their project, entitled “Fish, Farms and Shared Futures: Defining public perceptions of land-based aquaculture to support
sustainable decision-making”? takes a two-pronged approach to explore local Recirculating Aquaculture Systems (RAS) siting dynamics, focusing on 1) perceptions and 2) communication. On the perception side, Rickard, McGreavy and collaborators propose to explore several complementary social psychological constructs that may assist entrepreneurs and regulators, as well as local communities, in identifying and addressing potential barriers to siting aquaculture facilities, including sense of place and perceived naturalness. Check out this news clip featuring Dr. Rickard describing this award and a UMaine feature story.

Dr. Sindhu Manjesh to publish blog with Times of India:

CMJ’s Lecturer in Journalism, Sindhu Manjesh, has been commissioned by the Times of India to publish a blog on international politics and society with a focus on the U.S. Her posts can be found here.?https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blogs/soapbox/

2018-2019 News

Congratulations to Olivia Reese!

Olivia Reese, a Media Studies major, has been selected to be this semester’s McGillicuddy Humanities Center fellow.?Her research aims to reconceptualize cultivation theory to consider elements of social media usage. She is the first non-English major to receive this honor.?

Paul Grosswiler to give talk Tuesday, March 12

On Tuesday, March 12th, Professor Paul Grosswiler will be giving a talk in the Bangor Room of the Memorial Union titled “James Carey and Canadian Media Theory: Communication is Culture.” Box lunches and hot beverages will be available.?